My Obsession Monday: Astronaut Wives Club

Copyright belongs to ABC

Another weekend has come and gone. The month of “practically everyone’s birthday” and pumpkin-everything is almost here. Too bad I’m not a huge fan of all things pumpkin. Pumpkin candles are nice though. 😉

So anyway, this week I want to mention a show that I absolutely fell in love with this summer. The Astronaut Wives Club is a show on ABC based on a book about the lives of the Mercury 7. These were the women married to the first seven US astronauts to go into space, which apparently does not include Neil Armstrong…or Buzz Aldrin… Yes, I just admitted how lacking in space knowledge and general history I am. At least I knew those two names.

When I first started watching the show I did so because I had run out of episodes for my other shows I watch. I figured I would give the pilot episode a chance and am so glad I did. This show had me laughing and crying with the women. Every character’s story was developed nicely and it actually had me searching Google and Wikipedia for more information on the ladies and their famous husbands. It made me wish I had been alive during this time of such amazing advancement in our knowledge about science and space; and I’m not even a huge space sci-fi type person.

There are ten episodes for the first, and probably only, season. While I’d seen two of the actresses before, the cast was all relatively new to me. That being said, they all had great chemistry and I want to see more of them – hopefully with a second season of the show! If you haven’t had a chance to watch it, check ABC’s website and maybe Hulu for the episodes and let me know what you think.

4 thoughts on “My Obsession Monday: Astronaut Wives Club

  1. I am going to have to check out this show! I have been looking for another show to get into after finishing up my latest obsession, Miss Fisher’s Murder Mysteries. Also, bring on allll the pumpkin! Pinterest is already seems to be pumpkin everything. Summer can’t be over, can it? It just started! lol

Leave a Reply

