Recovering From Overindulgence

Recovering From Overindulgence

Alrighty then. After a few weeks of not eating fast food, the hubster and I got Whataburger last night. *GASP* Then I didn’t have lunch planned for today so I ordered Jimmy John’s. *DOUBLE GASP* I know, right!? When it rains, it pours. Well I am owning up to my mistakes and paying for it. My body feels inflamed and bloated. My sinuses are all stuffy too and there may be a mild headache lurking around the corner. Curse you delicious dairy, gluten, and fried carbs! Today I need to be in recovery mode as much as possible. What does that mean?

  1. Hydrate! Hydrate! Hydrate! There’s currently a bottle full of “spa water” sitting in front of me to finish. It’s got cucumber, lemon and lime slices, and mint. Delicious and practically no calories. I’ve also got a few different teas for additional help. Spearmint, lemon ginger, and green tea are all good for digestive health and to reduce inflammation. Not to mention they’re good ways to add flavor to water.
  2. Eat well. After overeating or eating the wrong foods, it’s a good idea to restart your healthy eating as soon as possible. Restricting your calories and whatnot to “offset” the previous meal is not a great idea because you will just end up hungry and that can lead to another bad meal choice. It’s a bad cycle to end up in. Today is also not a day to forget to take any vitamin supplements.
  3. Forgive yourself and start over. One bad meal isn’t the end of the world. You just need to know you had a weak moment, everyone does at some point, and you can get past it. Beating yourself up for it is no bueno and might set you back on your goals. It’s time to move on and not let a stumble stop you.

Now I just have to make sure to get my booty moving tonight. I need to get some running/cardio in. I think it’s actually under 100 degrees out today so that’s good, right? It’s practically a cold front for us Texans haha.

How do you recover after a bad meal choice? Let me know below. 🙂

Leave a Reply

