Breathe In, Breathe Out

Last night was a bit of a rough night for me as I almost caved and gave up on my diet for the night. I had all sorts of anxious energy building up and I couldn’t stop picking at my nails or eating sunflower seeds. Eating them with shells on takes a longer time so I don’t consume as many. The more I realized what I was doing with my nails, the more I did it! I was also hungry but it was late and knew I shouldn’t eat anything else but since I was in need of something to do I wanted to eat. It’s part of why I’m at 255 lbs. It’s a struggle I’ve dealt with since I was little. I have to find ways to expend my energy and express my emotions in a healthy way instead of eating them away. Eventually I realized that I needed to relax my mind and made a cup of chamomile tea instead. I have a goal of getting healthy and I can’t give up yet again.

Some things that can be helpful, that aren’t eating a bunch of calories, are:

  • Drinking herbal tea
  • Art therapy (I’ve found getting out a coloring book helps keep my mind unwind and my hands busy)
  • Doing housework (There’s always something to clean)
  • Doing some light exercise to expend energy
  • Taking a hot bath with epsom salts and essential oils like white jasmine or lavender
  • Writing/journaling (I kept a diary/Xanga/Myspace blog from middle school through high school just to think things through on paper and in writing – I forgot how much it helped)
  • Talking to someone
  • Yoga – I really want to try a class to get the basics down

I have to take this one day at a time…

What are some other relaxation techniques y’all use?

2 thoughts on “Breathe In, Breathe Out

  1. Niki says:

    i didn’t know you started a blog lil gurl!! Losing/maintaining weight has always been a struggle for me. As most can tell, I got the curvey body Puerto Rican genes and not the “I came out of the womb with abs” Wall genes. I got down to 140 last summer but now I’m back up to 160. It’s very discouraging to have gained 20 pounds. Epecially when I feel the pressure all around me to wear a bikini soon and minimal clothing for summer. I too have to remind myself to breathe in and out. With time, determination and patience, we will make it to our goals. I defiantly go to food for comfort. So to distract myself when a wave of cravings comes in, I yoga it out. I could totally help you getting started with yoga. I love love love yoga. Over the past year it You has improved things like my anxiety levels, my grades, toning my body, mental clarity, total relaxation. And more I can’t think of lol. But anyways, I am proud of you and I think you are doing a great job, keep up the good work! I love you and will always support you! We are family for life bitch whether you like it or not 😂

    • Yes, I’ve had it for like 2 years but I never really wrote much. I’m just realizing how it can help me clear my mind. Babies with abs! That’s hilarious! But I totally know what you mean. Luckily this summer has started off with rain lol. I love you and thanks so much for your support! ❤

Leave a Reply

